Without weakening in his faith, he faced the fact that his body was as good as dead—since he was about a hundred years old—and that Sarah’s womb was also dead. 20 Yet he did not waver through unbelief regarding the promise of God, but was strengthened in his faith and gave glory to God, 21 being fully persuaded that God had power to do what he had promised. 22 This is why “it was credited to him as righteousness.”

Rom 4:19-22

Abraham, to me, is the bible’s superman and every time I read about his story, I am convinced of this fact.

I woke up this morning with a word in my heart “Where there’s light (the word of God), there’s a way” then I went to my devotional and today’s topic was “Focus on what God is saying” (awesome right!!!) talking about Abraham and after I read the body of the devotional and it’s bible text, I remember asking God how Abraham did it. How did this man ‘hope against hope’, how did he stay unwavering, what he was believing God for had never been done before, even the God that told him wasn’t visible, how did he take a promise from God so literally and hold on to it so faithfully?

The bible said he faced face the fact that his and sarah’s body was as good as dead yet he didn’t waver, his faith didn’t shake…. How?

This was my question this morning to God.

And He opened my eyes to “Abraham was strengthened in his faith and gave glory to God being fully persuaded that God had power to do what He had promised

God has been teaching me how to take His word literally recently, so I imagined that God told Abraham He was going to give him a son and Abraham believed, he knew that God is real, God is able to do it and God will do it, i.e He had faith. But that was one encounter, he still had to face the facts everyday, his old body, his old wife but he knew he had to stay in faith so he strengthened it.

Abraham must have had to remind himself of the promises “everyday”.

I imagine this is the good fight of faith the bible talks about, openly declaring your faith over and over again to yourself, to everyone. (1Tim 6:12)

Thank God for the name change but I imagine he had to tell himself everyday that was going to birth his biological son, his heir, and he was the father of many nations and he also reminded himself that God has the power to do it. That was him strengthening his faith.

I can imagine all these because that’s exactly what God told me to do. Every promise God has given to you, speak it out over and over again, reminding yourself that God is, God can, God will. He made the promise, He has the power to do it and He’d do it.

I did that this morning and oh the joy I felt after, I felt on top of the world , like nothing is impossible to me, I literally felt stronger in faith.

I reckon I’d have to do this very often (Call forth my inner Abraham) and I’m excited for it!

Please note: I didn’t go quoting bible texts, I just freely spoke out those seemingly impossible things that God had at a point told me I could do, those gigantic dreams I had in me and I dwelled in the knowledge that God is able to do exceedingly, abundantly, much more than I could ever ask for think!

When was the last time you strengthened your faith? God loves you and He is pleased when you stay in faith. The word of God works, His promises are true and He’d bring everyone of them to pass!

Go on, go on… strengthen your faith too

Please check out my other revelations on Abraham “Isaac or Ismael” and on Faith “God is

…in my little words,

Choice.

One thought on “Strengthening Your Faith

  1. Wow! Wow! Wow!

    This just boosted my faith and meditation on today’s devotional further…

    My focus was on .*..But it shall accomplish what I please, And it shall prosper in the thing for which I sent it.*

    And now understanding to remind myself of HIS promises knowing that it pleases HIM and HE has an objective for the promise is just awesome…

    Thanks for sharing.

    I love this teaching..

    …in my silent voice, Precious

    Like

Leave a comment